If God Exists, Everything Changes

I was 16.  My best friend and I worked together at a the Real Dry Cleaners in our home town.  We were always into mischief.  One day after we closed the place down we went walking out on the railroad tracks that were right beside the dry cleaners.  The tracks went over the Clinch River, which flowed not too far away.  We walked out onto the train bridge over the Clinch.  Pretty fun, we thought.  Really stupid, in reality.  And, no kidding, while we are out on the train bridge overlooking the Clinch, a train comes around the corner and starts blaring its horn.  So we ran…and since I’m writing this story, we made it off the bridge in time.

Here’s the point of this whole story…I didn’t need anybody preaching me sermons or encouraging me to get off the bridge.  The very existence of that train coming down the tracks was more than sufficient to make me run and get off the bridge.

Hebrews 11:6, “And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.” (ESV)

The reality is that if you really believe in the existence of God, you will quickly alter your life to match up with fact that he exists.  You won’t need anybody telling you how to live.  You will change to conform with that belief.  I believed the train existed, so I ran.  I believe God exists, and that he rewards those who seek him…so I seek him with everything.  I live to hear “well done” on the final day.

This is why I say, “If God exists, then everything changes.”

What do you need to change in your life to conform with the reality of his existence???

This entry was posted in Christianity, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If God Exists, Everything Changes

  1. Jack Watkins says:

    Two comments:
    1. Quote from this sermon: “I think some of us don’t believe God exists.” I thought this was an interesting statement because just a few days before an atheist who was a guest on the O’Reily Factor on Fox made almost the same statement. He told Bill O’Reily that he thought many people attending church regularly were atheists. Of course, I understand what you were saying and agree. I’m not sure what this guy was getting at. I think he was just trying to discredit Christians and again maybe he has a point.
    2. The C. S. Lewis quote: “…the Christians who did the most for the present world were precisely those who thought the most of the next.” Thus our ineffectiveness as Christians. HOT TOPIC: Sermon on the next world.

Leave a Reply

