Taming God

Our view of God’s abilities is usually defined by what we consider to be possible or impossible within the boundaries of human strength and abilities.  In other words, we have the tendency to tame God.

Ah, Lord GOD! It is you who have made the heavens and the earth by your great power and by your outstretched arm! Nothing is too hard for you. – Jeremiah 32:17

Have you ever been in a group setting when somebody says something completely serious and everybody starts laughing???  Everybody except the person who said the thing thinks that it’s funny.  Check out this same thing in the following verses after God has told Abraham (99 yrs. old) and Sarah (90 yrs. old) that they’re finally going to have the promised child after waiting 25 years since God made the promise.

10 The LORD said, “I will surely return to you about this time next year, and Sarah your wife shall have a son.” And Sarah was listening at the tent door behind him. 11 Now Abraham and Sarah were old, advanced in years. The way of women had ceased to be with Sarah. 12 So Sarah laughed to herself, saying, “After I am worn out, and my lord is old, shall I have pleasure?” 13 The LORD said to Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh and say, ‘Shall I indeed bear a child, now that I am old?’ 14 Is anything too hard for the LORD? At the appointed time I will return to you, about this time next year, and Sarah shall have a son.” – Genesis 18:10-14

God is completely serious in verse 10 when he says that Abraham and Sarah will be having a child.  Sarah’s response is to crack up laughing at God, but God doesn’t think it is funny because he was serious.

God finds it strange when we think he can’t do something. I love the question in verse 14, “Is anything too hard for the Lord?”  We know the answer, but do we believe the answer?  In your belief about God, do you tame God and strip away his power?  He can do anything!!!

This entry was posted in Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taming God

  1. Ben Simpson says:

    Mark, thanks for drawing our attention to the can-do-anything-he-desires-ness of God, the omnipotence of God. I’m afraid that I’ve tamed God in the past by simply making plans based upon on what I believe I or my church can do, leaving God’s intervention out of the equation. Like the father of the demon-possessed boy in Mark 9:14-29, we often need to pray to God, “I do believe; help my unbelief,” (Mk 9:24). Big things happen when believe on our big God!

    Thanks for the devotional!

Leave a Reply

