When People Attack with Words

One reality in life is that people will hurt you with their words.  I read Ezra chapters 1-6 in my morning Scripture time yesterday.  Zerubbabel experienced strong vocal opposition to the rebuilding of the temple (chs. 4-5).  He also experienced people trying to undermine his work.  Nehemiah also experienced strong vocal opposition in his work of rebuilding the wall (Nehemiah chs. 4 & 6).

This morning in my morning Scripture time I opened to the psalms.  I started in Psalm 64, and what was the topic?  It is a psalm of lament about when people scheme (v.2) and attack with words (v.3).

What is the response from David, the psalmist?  Look to God to work on his behalf (v.7-9) and trust in God (v.10).

Do you believe God is able to take care of you?  Do you believe God can stop the mouths of your attackers?  Who is more effective at winning this battle, you or God?

Most of the time we don’t believe God is able because we fight back the same way…with attacking words.  We fire back to them the same things they fired at us rather than allowing God to fight for us.

What’s the secret to trusting God to fight for you???  PRAYER!!!

Hear my voice, O God, in my complaint;
preserve my life from dread of the enemy. (Ps. 64:1)

And we prayed to our God… (Neh. 4:9)

For they all wanted to frighten us, thinking, “Their hands will drop from the work, and it will not be done.” But now, O God, strengthen my hands. (Neh. 6:9)

Remember Tobiah and Sanballat, O my God, according to these things that they did, and also the prophetess Noadiah and the rest of the prophets who wanted to make me afraid. (Neh. 6:14)

Our God is able!  Trust him!

This entry was posted in Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

