I Challenge You to Do This

Next month I will turn 33 years old (yikes).  In reflecting on the speed of life, I have set a goal for my 34th year.  I’m going to make myself slow down enough to do the following: read the New Testament once per month, every month from April 2011-March 2012.  That’s right, I’m aiming to read the New Testament 12 times over the next year!!!

And I want to challenge you to do it with me.  So, here’s the rundown…

It averages out to about 10 chapters per day, 6 days per week, with Sundays being used as “grace days” (not having an assigned reading) to catch up or get ahead depending on how busy a certain week is.  Below is a sample schedule for how it will work in April.  Then, in May, you can use the same order but move the grace days so they fall on the Sundays of May.

NTApril – download sample schedule for April

Also, I will be reading the NT in a different Bible version every month for a little variety.  I tried to alternate between literal versions and dynamic versions. Here’s which version I’ll be using each month.

April – New Living Translation (NLT)
May – English Standard Version (ESV)
June – Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB)
July – New King James Version (NKJV)
August – New International Reader’s Version (NIrV)
September – New American Standard Bible (NASB)
October – Today’s New International Version (TNIV) – you won’t be able to find this much longer b/c Zondervan has discontinued its publication
November – King James Version (KJV)
December – The Message
January 2012 – New International Version 2011 (NIV) – the updated NIV is being released this month
February – New English Translation (NET Bible)
March – New Century Version (NCV)

If you would like to do this with me could you leave a comment on this post or send me an email?

This entry was posted in Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Challenge You to Do This

  1. Pingback: New Living Translation (NLT) – First Thoughts | I Will Follow

  2. Pingback: ESV Review and June 2011 NT Reading Challenge | I Will Follow

Leave a Reply

