My Prayer As I Read the Bible

So, today starts the journey thru the New Testament 12 times in the next 12 months.  Click here to read the post about this challenge.  As I begin this challenge, I have one big fear.  I am afraid that this will be nothing more than a reading exercise.  That would defeat the purpose.  The idea is to allow God to use his Word to form us into the image of Christ.  So here’s my prayer for myself and for you if you’re doing this or just anytime you pick up the Bible to read or study.  All the following verses are in Psalm 119.

  • May God open our eyes to see wonderful things as we read his Word. (Ps. 119:18)
  • May God grant to us understanding of what we see in his Word. (Ps. 119:27)
  • May God build us up with his Word. (Ps. 119:28)
  • May God himself be our teacher. (Ps. 119:33, 135)
  • May God incline our hearts to love his Word even more. (Ps. 119:36)
This entry was posted in Prayers, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Prayer As I Read the Bible

  1. Pingback: ESV Review and June 2011 NT Reading Challenge | I Will Follow

Leave a Reply

