New Testament Reading Challenge – May 2011

We finished our first month of the New Testament reading challenge using the New Living Translation (initial review of NLT).  I must say that I enjoyed the NLT much more than I thought I would.  You see, I’m a big advocate of more literal or word-for-word translations because of my philosophy and approach to the text and preaching the text.

That said, I really liked the NLT and found myself reading it to our kids in the evenings.  I think the NLT does its best work with narrative sections of the Scripture (gospels, historical books) because the NLT is designed to be read aloud and tell the story.  The narrative sections of Scripture focus on just that…telling the story of Jesus, telling the story of Israel’s history.  I also really liked the modern equivalents of measurements (distance, weight, money, etc).

Here’s a reading schedule for May – NTMay.

This month we’re using the English Standard Version (ESV).  This is the translation that I normally read and preach from.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

